The Writivism Short Story Prize 2015

Deadline: 30 April 2015 - 12:00am

Dates: 16 - 22 June 2015


Where: Kampala, Uganda

The Writivism Short Story Prize is an annual award for emerging African writers administered by the Center for African Cultural Excellence (CACE).  

It is limited to writers who have not yet had a book published.

Only one entry per writer may be submitted for the Writivism Short Story Prize. The story must be original and previously unpublished in any form except on the writer’s personal blog.

All entries must be in English, and 2,500 – 3,500 words long.

Entries must be submitted online, by emailing them to [email protected] as attachments (not in the body email), clearly labeled in the subject: Writivism Competition 2015.

Five writers will be shortlisted. The first prize will receive $400 and other four shortlisted writers will each receive a cash prize of 100$. All five of the shortlisted writers will travel to Kampala from June 16 to June 22 2015 for  the annual Writivism Festival.

This year’s judging panel is chaired by Chika Unigwe, with Mukoma Wa Ngugi, Rachael Zadok, Tendai Huchu and Ainehi Edoro.

The deadline for entries is 30 April 2015.

For more information, please read the detailed submission guidelines on Writivism’s website.

Read older posts from this section

Leave a Reply